Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Redcat Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Thoughts on moving from 1.9 to 2.2 tires on my Gen 7

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2018, 07:56 PM   #1

Default Thoughts on moving from 1.9 to 2.2 tires on my Gen 7

Long story short-I am a newbie. I have spent a fortune getting my gen 7 to run for more than 5 minutes (see above...); however I am learning fast and I have learned a ton getting here. Without more than reading a post here I decided that I needed to go bigger on the tire front-so I did. New tires (Pro Line Flat Iron's) and bead locks (Pro Line) annnndddddddd spacers (missed that one....) Drove the silly looking thing tonight for the first time with 2.2's and here is what I know.

On a very challenging acre of construction debris and asphalt dumpings that I have been using for my training ground the rig climbs like a bandit. The added clearance really helps. I had the Sport version (notice the had???) and I agree that the foam inserts are JUNK. These tires handle so much better-imagine turning and the tire helping rather than rolling under.... anyway what a difference. Really-WOW. That said I miss the challenge of the smaller tires... these made the impossible attainable, but it doesn't look right and now wants to spend a inordinate amount of time upside down.

Does it work? Yes with 110 Hot Racing shocks and lots of metal upgrades, but I think I will stay with the 1.9's and learn how to drive...
pearing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-07-2018, 10:34 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Thoughts on moving from 1.9 to 2.2 tires on my Gen 7

You can also replace the foams in the original tires to make them better I have Crawler Innovation foams in mine but it's a Pro so it's heavier than the Sport.
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 08:06 AM   #3

which compound of foam did you get?
axben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 09:00 AM   #4