Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya Scale Rock Crawlers > Tamiya XC/CC01

Notices

Thread: Montero wheelie body on custom cc01 chassis

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2013, 01:29 AM   #1

Default Montero wheelie body on custom cc01 chassis

Hey all, I just got into "hobby grade" RC when my friend gave me a rolling cc01 chassis for Christmas. I've been modifying and blowing up the cheapie stuff for many many years, now it's time to modify and blow up the expensive stuff lol.

He got the chassis very well used in a deal from a local member, it already had a custom 3 link setup and had been drilled and cut in all sorts of places so I had no issue with "hacking" it up more when I made the decision to use the Montero Wheelie body. One night we got drunk and took the sawzall out for a faster cut lol.

He also hooked me up with a set of stock electronics for it, and has been saying I need a higher turn motor and GRU. He's also been saying I should post some pics of it up... and that's free so here I am.

It's a work in progress, I'm still waiting on the windows to show up from Japan.

I wired up my own LED setup and made my own lenses from clear hot glue. For body posts I used threaded bolts and wing nuts, mainly since the LHS was out of stock on plastic posts. The "posts" will be cut down once I finalize the body height. I painted the body with some automotive UV resistant black gloss, and then I clearcoated it with the same type of auto UV resistant gloss... I expect lots of scrapes to show up now. I also painted the wheels bronze to match my 1:1 Mitsubishi. (Mitsubishi fanatic)

Once I get my waterproof box finalized I'll have a proper antenna mount lol.

You can see how far forward I mounted one of the lipo saddle packs in this pic, it's the blue hardcase peaking out.