RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Traxxas TRX-4 (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/traxxas-trx-4/)
-   -   Just got defender and she’s tippy (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/traxxas-trx-4/629098-just-got-defender-she%92s-tippy.html)

Scott Tighe 04-26-2022 06:37 AM

Just got defender and she’s tippy

I had a bronco before and now I got a defender and like everyone says she’s very top heavy. I’ve been doing some research and most say to add weight down low. I found a bunch of brass stuff on Amazon for a decent price. Does anyone have any other recommendations? I’m new to the game and just looking to make minor mods for now.

Thanks

Exiwolfman 04-26-2022 06:41 AM

Re: Just got defender and she’s tippy

Brass works well on the axles down low.

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

Exiwolfman 04-26-2022 06:45 AM

Also LCG battery tray helps lots

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

DrIsotope 04-26-2022 08:11 AM

You really only need a few things. Go with the heaviest cheap portal covers, like these. Then a set of alloy or steelie beadlocks, and perhaps most
importantly-- smaller diameter tires. I'm running 4.3" Axial Ripsaws on mine and it's phenomenal.
That's pretty much the extent of weight added to mine. Also, take the top bit of the roof basket off. It's like 4oz at the highest possible point.

The pertinent run and discussion of the Defender starts around the 25 minute mark.

<iframe width="1024" height="768" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/-NRRjO03PXM" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

MOguy 04-26-2022 08:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scott Tighe (Post 6114772)