Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Vaterra Scale Rock Crawlers > Vaterra Twin Hammers

Notices

Thread: Twin Hammers Kit - electronics recommendations

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2015, 06:58 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Twin Hammers Kit - electronics recommendations

I'm a noob for crawling/rock racing, and I don't own a Twin Hammers, yet, but expect to acquire the KIT form in a short while.

What is the best combination of ESC and motor for this vehicle? Is brushed recommended over brushless? If so, why? What are the pros and cons for brushed and brushless in this application?

I expect to do equal crawling and higher speed (20 to 25 mph?) to take advantage of the 2 speed tranny, so I guess this combo would be a bit of a compromise for each task.

The budget:

Hammer kit: $249
Airtronics receiver: $110 ish ( I already own the Airtronics MT4 controller)
Sensors for receiver: $23
Servos: $100 ish (for 2)
Moter/esc: $110 ish

Thanks, Jerry

Last edited by gfmucci; 03-31-2015 at 07:20 PM.
gfmucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-01-2015, 12:43 AM   #2

Default Re: Twin Hammers Kit - electronics recommendations

I had my TH equipped with 19T and then 17T brushed motors and the stock ESC. It worked well for my style of crawling and trailing. The chassis can't handle higher speeds well like a buggy, so the brushed combo was OK, but still kind of mild in open terrain.

To get a little bit more thrill, I just installed a LRP 10.5 brushless motor with a fully programmable SkyRC ESC. I did not try it yet, but I played around with 0° start timing and the turbo timing to extend the range of use. On the bench it looks very well, responsive in low and it blows the wheels on full throttle in high. I'm keen to try it out on the trail and I will update my driving experience with this combo.
Fantuzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2015, 02:41 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave