Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > XTM Crawler

Notices

Thread: XTM X-Crawler how to open gearbox ?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2010, 11:37 AM   #1

Question XTM X-Crawler how to open gearbox ?

Guys,

As expected my front gearbox has given up on me and I recevied the replacement gears from Globalhobby.

How to actually open the gearbox without making a mess, from which side and whot to take care about ?

I'll actually wait and read your opinion before changing it as I am totally new at this.

Last edited by Le0Heart; 01-07-2010 at 01:23 PM.
Le0Heart is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-07-2010, 12:20 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

best bet as i just found out by luck. remove the steering knuckles, then you will have access to the press fit pins on the ends of the axle. i used a park tools chain break tool for a bicycle to get the pins started and then used a punch to get it the rest of the way. remove the motor mount side from the center section. the biggest thing to be careful of is there are 3 brass spacers sitting on the dowels that the gears sit on. dont lose them or the gears wont stay meshed correctly. the bearings are pretty good about staying put if enough grease has gotten to them but keep an eye out for those to as they like to roll away if they get out of the case. good luck.... im in germany so im testing some loctite weld resin to see how long that will hold up since i cant just go get gears out here. if you remove the window side first the gear attached to the axle will keep the other gears in place so you can take note of how they go together.

Last edited by Super Woody; 01-19-2010 at 10:27 AM. Reason: miss info on side to remove...sorry. wrote it wrong but did mine right.
Super Woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 12:45 PM   #3