Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > 1:1 Full Size Vehicles

Notices

Thread: light knocking noise in my F250

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2012, 11:08 AM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default light knocking noise in my F250

I have an old beater truck, a 1990 F250 4x4. Last year I swapped in a complete drive train from a crashed F350 which consisted of : the 5.8, ZF-5 manual trans, D60 front and and 10.25 full floater rear axle. When the motor was out, I did the timing chain, rear main seal, resurfaced flywheel and new clutch kit.

I'm not a novice when it comes to automotive repair, but with that being said- every make has it's own unique issues and my Ford experience is almost non-existent. The noise that has appeared is much louder when the engine is cold, it is almost inaudible when the engine gets warm. It's a metallic tapping noise, similar to a rod knock or a bad wrist pin. The oil pressure is good, there's no metal particles in the oil so I'm ruling out a bad rod bearing. I do know that Ferd doesn't have adjustable rocker arms, so I'm leaning towards a worn/flat lifter or a rocker stud pulling out of the head.

Can anyone think of a way to isolate the probably issue without tearing apart the engine? The intake plenum has to be removed to gain access to the passenger side valve cover so I'd like to strong indication that it needs to be removed before I actually take it apart.

Thanks for any input.
BigSki is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-29-2012, 11:19 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder

How dirty is the crankcase on that engine you installed? Dark in color and possibly some carbon buildup? You may have just a simple sticky lifter.

Without hearing it, I'm only guessing. Running an engine flush made by a reputable company (I prefer BG products as they simply work) can only help the engine condition if its moderately dirty.
Draggermirage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:24 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave