Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: First Scale Build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2011, 05:44 PM   #1

Default First Scale Build

Hey Guys,

This is my first attempt at a scale truck build. I really liked the leaf spring trucks I've seen so it was an easy choice. I picked up a Trailfinder chassis, T-Rex 60 axles with leaf mounts and red leafs. For the most part it all seems pretty self explanatory but if anyone wants to jump in with suggestions I'm all ears.

I'm going to order some shocks and I'm wondering if anyone has had any experience with the G-Made TS02 shocks? I really like the look of them and searching didn't come up with anything about them in particular.

The total plan is to get close to a CUCV 80s Blazer for looks.

Thanks in advance for any help thrown my way.

Paul.
Attached Images

ParacordPaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-30-2011, 07:13 AM   #2

Default Re: First Scale Build

Hey Guys,

Started to put the suspension on the chassis and found I needed to mod a few of the parts. First thing I noticed was the spring eyes didn't fit into the shackles well. I guess from the bending of the eyes they weren't 100% parallel with the leaf itself and caused binding. I just touched them up with a small grinder until they fit with a bit of side clearance.

Next was the Shooter shackles. They came with a bolt and bushing that goes through the spring that I didn't care for so I drilled the bracket to accommodate the shoulder bolts that was used in the stock setup. There was plenty of meat on the shackle to enlarge the holes, it's a nicer setup I think.

This may be pretty routine for allot of you but I didn't find anything about these items searching so it may help other new guys like myself. So far I'm having fun figuring it out, I'm already planning my second build.