Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: K2-5 vs SCX-10 chassis

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2009, 08:05 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default K2-5 vs SCX-10 chassis

I've been building my K2-5 scaler for a few months and it's almost finished. Now the SCX-10 comes out and I can't help to wonder if that chassis might be a better way of making a capable scaler.

The K2-5 is using TLT axles, a R2 tranny, 60mm Tamiya road car shocks making about 2" of articulation before one of the rear wheels lifts from the ground.

The biggest issue with the K2-5 chassis is the mounting points for the upper links. They are longer than the lower links, so it rotates the axle badly as the suspension cycles. The wheelbase is set at 11.5".

Any thoughts about this? I think it would be cool if the Reign RC chassis can be tweeked to work very well, at least I'd have a rig that I built instead of buying but there is something to be said about a well engineered rig that you open the box and assemble.
BigSki is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-30-2009, 09:33 AM   #2
RCC Addict

do you have pics?
jimbiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 10:30 AM   #3
RCC Addict

Sounds like you have some link geometry issues. K2-5 performs really well if its setup right.
dirk379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 12:33 PM   #4
RCC Addict

I dont know much about the K2-5 chassis so I cant help you there. But the new SCX chassis is designed to use a double triangulated 4-link suspension front and rear. That would give you a lot of suspension travel. I hope this helps out a little.

Justin
bigdodge88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 12:52 PM   #5
Rock Crawler

if you go by the build document (http://www.reignrc.com/reignrc/downl...0Bld%20Doc.pdf)
the upper and lower links are the same length.
at least thats how its designed to be.

anyways, next time we have a gtg I'll have my k2-5 along