Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: 4 door Hilux build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2014, 05:20 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default 4 door Hilux build

So I decided to embark on my very first body build, I decided on a 4 door Hilux, not a lot of those floating around and I already had one Hilux body so why not. This is my very first build of body work and joining so it's not the best craftsmanship you will see but I'm giving it my best, beware, ha. I use Tenax 7R plastic welder to bond the plastic together.

In this picture group I have the bonding finished and made brackets for the drip rail, next up, bondo! More pictures to come.

This is how my SCX10 sits now.

arctichorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-01-2014, 08:02 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: 4 door Hilux build

So it looks like you didn't have to cut and extend the chassis....good deal. But how does the body rest on there? Any hokeyness that would make it look less scale?
z71baja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 09:14 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Really glad i didn't have to extend the frame. The body rests great, maybe the rear body posts would make it less scale but I'm going to spray the inside of the bed black like rhino lining, the bondo failed when I was going to fill in the pre drilled holes so I'm getting modeling puddy.
Old 01-01-2014, 09:20 PM   #4
Rock Crawler

Looks awesome
4X4 Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 10:49 PM   #5
I wanna be Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by arctichorse View Post
Really glad i didn't have to extend the frame. The body rests great, maybe the rear body posts would make it less scale but I'm going to spray the inside of the bed black like rhino lining, the bondo failed when I was going to fill in the pre drilled holes so I'm getting modeling puddy.