Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 2.2 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Redneck Chevy buildup (or my attempt)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2006, 05:07 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Redneck Chevy buildup (or my attempt)

Hey guys,

Well, after running nylints for a long time, i decided to try a TLT; i HAD a build page over on Scale4x4, but those guys never really replied to anything i asked after awhile (guess they wanted pics more than i could provide ).

Anyway, specs are this:

PPE chassis kit (great quality)
TLT axles (Locked with JB weld)
Pede tranny with sliders (locked the same as the axles)
RPM Clawz wheels, narrowed about 2 inches (They were rears)
IMEX Swamp Dawgs (star cut foams)
Stinger 20 turn motor (trying something new)
Super Chicken
TQ3 radio (modded for winch)
Maxx shocks

Go easy on it when you see the pics guys; i'm a noob at this

Here we go:

The black mudder

Front shot (don't mind the mud in the grill )

Not much flex, but it's enough (probably the shock mounting; they're angled out more than in. Don't know how to fix it though, cause the shocks rub if i put the mounts on the inside of the chassis)

Body off

First trouble spot, the front shocks. I used the stock TLT mounts for the cantilever arms i think. The shocks can't travel enough without binding; i moved the shocks outside the chassis rails to try and get more clearance, but that didn't work. They're stiff as a board now (those are Maxx shocks, with Traxxas oil and 2 hole pistons in them). Any thoughts? I don't have a lathe or a mill; all i have access to are basic hand tools (not even a drill press) so my fabrication is limited.