Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 2.2 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: TBF - First time build - Silverado Truggy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2016, 11:26 PM   #1

Default TBF - First time build - Silverado Truggy

I started gathering parts and I am going to attempt building a rig. I'm new to RC Crawling, so please bear with me.

My initial plan is for a 07-13 Silverado extended cab Truggy with slightly pinched nose. Not sure exactly what I will end of with, but it is the starting goal. I do have the Pro-Line 07 Silverado, so it is also a good starting point.

The name: It might get a better one later, but for now I am calling it TBF which could stand for any of the following:
Trial By Fire
Truggy Back Frame
The Beautiful First
The Big F*****
Tires Bigger for Fun

I am partial to Trial By Fire, because I am jumping into this build with very little experience.

Some planned parts:
RC4WD Interco Boggers (have)
CI foams (need to get)
Axial beadlocks (for now)
HH Sensored Puller Pro BL 540 Standard 3500kv (have)
HH TrailMaster BLE Pro (have)
VP SCX width Curries (have rear center & tubes)
LURC FI spools
LURC scale hardware
HS-7955TG (on its way)

Planning on building the entire chassis, have not decided exactly how yet. Right now leaning towards square tube ripped. That would be to just behind the cab, then tube or solid rod for the rest. I have access to a MIG and am fairly confident with it. I've never tried brazing. I will be getting a bender soon (suggestions), and some other tools.

Still need to figure out the transmission, I think I want to move it up front with a toyzuki or similar setup (suggestions please). Was thinking maybe using a Yeti transmission, then I can convert it to a two speed. But maybe a SCX/Wraith to a RC4WD two speed transfer case.

As of right now thinking somewhere between 12.5" and 13" wheelbase. Thinking about trailing arms for the rear and three link in the front.