Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion
Loading

Notices

Thread: traxxas big bore mounting options?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2008, 06:12 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: hudson (the big city)
Posts: 267
Default traxxas big bore mounting options?

to the people running the big bores on the ax10 with or without the edge chassis. how are you mounting to shock cap ends of the shocks? fuel tubing, plastic spacers, etc...???
madmaxxed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-26-2008, 06:21 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: bay area
Posts: 223
Default

fuel tubing
theonek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 10:53 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 124
Default

I am using these with a washer on the outside, but my set up put's the shocks ina different location.
https://www.ssl-stormerhobbies.com/c...ns&pn=HOTC8036



clemet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 11:21 PM   #4
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oak Harbor
Posts: 117
Default

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE TELL HOW YOU MOUNTED THE BIG BORES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! what are the aluminum extender things! i have big bores and they are too short and my dad got mad because they dont work!
person123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 11:31 PM   #5
ghetto fabulous newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: with your mom
Posts: 2,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by person123 View Post
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE TELL HOW YOU MOUNTED THE BIG BORES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! what are the aluminum extender things! i have big bores and they are too short and my dad got mad because they dont work!
you have to make things work, everything is not just going to bolt up unless its made for the truck.Be different, build custom parts, make things work.


if you want your big bores shocks longer put your ax10 shock shafts in your big bore shocks. Use fuel line to mount them
yotachump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 09:02 AM   #6
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: hudson (the big city)
Posts: 267
Default

i was thinking fuel tubing. i eliminated the green cross bars and used just the screw, used the included plastic peices that come with the shocks and put a washer on the opposite side and installed a nut. the problem i can see is that the articulation may not reach it's fullest due to the top of the shock not having any movement to it. i'll try the fuel tubing. yodachump is right... anything will work. you just have to be a little creative sometimes to make it work.
madmaxxed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 09:18 AM   #7
GOT SCALE ?
 
Stormin2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylors Falls just hanging with the MNRCRC crew.
Posts: 7,823
Default

I'm running the Losi shocks they are about 100mm and very smooth. I have run several other 100mm sets but the Losi' are the smoothest.
Stormin2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 11:27 AM   #8
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Commerce Twp.
Posts: 1,776
Default

I used the stock traxxas mounts that come with the shocks.
JUSTGOINGSLOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 11:33 AM   #9
ghetto fabulous newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: with your mom
Posts: 2,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by person123 View Post
also, i have only been in this hobby since 2 christmas' ago. i know about alot of things but i dont have the tools to build custom stuff
you should know pretty much everything you need to know after 2 years.
yotachump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 12:06 PM   #10
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oak Harbor
Posts: 117
Default

if i just leave the big bores on my scorpion (mounted w/ fuel tubing) the lower links are level. ive only driven it inside really and it seems like there isnt enough ground clearance. is this fine or is it worth it to find a way to get stock or close to stock ground clearance (ie buy new shocks, put scorpion shafts in big bores, etc)
person123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 12:17 PM   #11
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: where fear and common sense don't get in the way
Posts: 451
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madmaxxed View Post
yotachump is right... anything will work. you just have to be a little creative sometimes to make it work.
.....
jagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 12:43 PM   #12
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oak Harbor
Posts: 117
Default

i just want to find a commonly used setup that will work well for me and eliminate the problems with the stock shocks (leaking mainly). if this means buying another set of shocks, i just want to be sure this time that they will be a bolt on upgrade with no major changes in the suspension geometry
person123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 01:01 PM   #13
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 54
Default

Alot of people are lowering their trucks to get a lower COG, so try the Big Bores in their stock configuration. If you aren't happy with that, then try to run the stock shocks shaft in the Big Bore shock body to achieve a little more ground clearance.
This is half of the fun of this sport/hobby, experimenting with different set-ups to get to where YOU want the truck.
HYPERactive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 01:06 PM   #14
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oak Harbor
Posts: 117
Default

do i use the stock springs? which pistons do i use?
person123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 01:07 PM   #15
666
MODERHATER™
 
666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 10,940
Default

Experiment!! Try something!! Be creative!! Everybodies tastes are differant, build the truck to your needs!
666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 01:09 PM   #16
MODERATOR™
 
EeePee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 18,928
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 666 View Post
Be creative!
Can you tell me how?
EeePee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 01:12 PM   #17
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oak Harbor
Posts: 117
Default

what exatcly is your setup "666"?
person123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 01:14 PM   #18
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oak Harbor
Posts: 117
Default

hey "666" could you go look at what i last said on "axial shock opionions" cause i dont feel like re-typing it
person123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 01:16 PM   #19
666
MODERHATER™
 
666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 10,940
Default

Hell Betty
666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 01:18 PM   #20
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: in my house
Posts: 1,517
Default

I run rc18 shocks on mine with a custom impala body... looks best when hittin' switches.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-tX67DdONcE
4u2nv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com