Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: Y space out rear left shock?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2008, 12:24 PM   #1

Default Y space out rear left shock?

Why? As far as I know, spring rate does not change through compression, so this would only increase ride height and limit compression.

Any thoughts from the think-tanks?

Last edited by Japko; 11-14-2008 at 12:42 PM.
Japko is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-14-2008, 12:37 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Some people say that it helps with torque twist. When you mount the shocks toward the outside of the axle it doesnt have as much leverage vs. mounted toward the middle. So the shock doesnt compress as easily. If that makes sense.
chvy4wd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 12:37 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Forgive my ignorance as I am new to RC crawling but is this a trend or something? To angle out the rear left shock?? I am a little confused.
fortysixandtwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 12:45 PM   #4

I know it's SUPPOSED to help with torque twist, but i don't see how.
Old 11-14-2008, 12:48 PM   #5
RCC Addict

don't angle it out. Just add a spacer above the spring. It makes it stiffer on that corner and does not TT as bad
Deezul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 12:51 PM   #6
Pebble Pounder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Japko View Post
Why why why? As far as I know, spring rate does not change through compression, so this would only increase ride height and limit compression.

Any thoughts from the think-tanks?