Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: Wheel Weight Idea. Good or Bad? Pics

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2008, 02:59 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Wheel Weight Idea. Good or Bad? Pics

I like the idea of wheel weights in the front especially since I am not running a split pack yet. I found a couple of 2" diameter by 1/8" thick washers lying around today and started thinking. They were two small to drill holes and use them as weighted beadlocks so after taking a closer look I was able to grind out the washer where the beadlock bolts go and it fits perfectly (nice and snug) inside the rim. I am not sure these even weigh enough to make a difference but I figured it can only help right? I am a newbie so are there any downfalls I am over seeing by doing this?

In the pics it doesn't look like the washer is down far enough to clear the center hub but it is.

dj23gsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-06-2008, 03:00 PM   #2
MODERHATER™

It's a good idea, alot of us use washers for weights, can you fit more than one in a wheel?
666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 03:05 PM   #3
Rock Stacker

Quote:
Originally Posted by 666 View Post
It's a good idea, alot of us use washers for weights, can you fit more than one in a wheel?
Possibly if i ground down (diameter) the inside one so I could push it farther into the rim to allow room for the second one and still leave the center hub sticking out. Its something I'll try once I get my hands on a few more washers.
Old 12-06-2008, 03:18 PM   #4
Rock Crawler

why not run weight in the tires instead of taking time to cut all the washers down to fit. Doesn't seam like to much weight even with 6 washers per side????

I put automotive wheel weight in mine..
Attached Images

lil' lucifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 03:29 PM   #5
Pebble Pounder