Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: looking for guidance

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2009, 09:19 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default looking for guidance

hello all, i want to start off by saying that i have been doing a lot of reading and research trying to figure out the best way to go with this. i know these questions get asked a lot and i just ask for your patience and suggestions.

basically, i am looking to get an Ax10 based crawler. i have limited experience with RC stuff, so a lot of the terms and acronyms you guys use will be lost to me initially. anyways, i am an experienced 1:1 crawler and a few years ago i had a tlt crawler that i never really got finished.

what i am looking at is building a crawler with around a $500 budget. i would like some input as to what the best overall setup would be for that budget. i think i would like to get a dig setup, or at least leave it open to get it at a later time without having to get a new radio setup. the same thing applies to rear steering. i was thinking this would require a 4 channel setup, but i will let some of you tell me the right way to go. i think i may want to go with lipo's right off the bat but i am completely in the dark about them.

one last thing, i get a lot of enjoyment out of assembling the truck, so if my best option is to piece the thing together from scratch then i am ok with that.

can some one give me some pointers?

this is my 1:1 Crawer
Donahue is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-23-2009, 09:35 PM   #2
Suck it up!

Go used. You'll save loads of $. Axial parts are cheap and plentiful. You might even be able to pick up an upgraded rig ready to go within your budget.

2.2's do real well with dig, RWS really isn't needed and isn't comp legal (if you plan to go that far).