Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: Homebrew Tuber

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2010, 02:26 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Homebrew Tuber IT'S ALIVE!

Getting back into crawlers and I figured what better way to do it then jump right in and build an aluminum tube bodied rig. So I went out, got a few sticks of brake line, some silver solder, and some patience and I went to work. The Specs for this thing is:

12.5" wheelbase
3.5" belly height
4 link F/R
Axial axles(rear locked)
Axial transmission/VP Dig
35t motor
Hitec Servos
Losi Rock Claws on Axial rims.
Unknown shocks(bought them from LHS, can anyone ID them?)

Since I'm a college student, I have no money, so most everything has been bought off of this forum. On to the pics.

It sat like this for a while, got some axles in and made a jig for the wheelbase.

Also, started working up a skid plate out of cutting board. I used traxxas rod ends(large) and 8/32 all thread sleeved with 1/4" stainless tubing for my links.

And Here is how it sits now.

And the mandatory flex shot

Last edited by YJJPWrangler; 02-02-2011 at 04:04 PM.
YJJPWrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-22-2010, 08:33 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Looks good. To me it looks more 1.1 then alot of tubers I've seen on here.

Jake
jr104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 10:35 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Nice skill's, but I think the front shock locations aren't in your favor. I expected them to be up in the hoops and they are sitting over the axle with a good portion of the chassis. Where are you going to find room for the steering servo? and room for travel?:?
I"m not knocking the effort, I think there's some relative things to look at before you call it good. To me it looks like the axle ahould be farther forward.
Krakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 05:06 PM   #4
Pebble Pounder