Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: Motor plate flex?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2007, 12:47 AM   #1
RCC Addict

Default Motor plate flex?

Let me start by saying what a sweet kit this is, right out of the box this thing wheels better than the custom TLT based rig I've been dialing-in for 8 to 9mo's. The AX10 if very well thought out and very well engineered, many props to axial and its engineers for a job very well done!

But uh, any one else noted the motor plate flex? It dosn't seen to affect the drivability but still trips me out a bit. I also noted some rotational play in the axle assembly due to the single upper link mount (will be worsened with time and wear of this joint). Man I hate to nit pick but there is also a ton of play in the axle drive-train (wheels spin freely 5-7 degrees).

Please note I am an engineer so I tend to analize things to death as its my job to do so on an every day basis, but again killer kit and for the first production crawler ever, this thing rocks!!!!
Mad4Rnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-26-2007, 07:45 AM   #2
MODERATOR™

I'm running a brushless motor in mine, and haven't had the pinion gear skip yet, so I don't think the motor plate flex is a problem. But I admit I haven't looked at it and tried to flex it. But if the gears don't skip, it's not a problem.

All the gears have their small amount of gear lash. Add them all up and it equals a small amount of free movement. Add the tire diameter and it's amplified, and you get your 7 degrees of tire rotation. The worst truck I've had that does this also is the Tamiya TXT. Big huge 32 pitch gears. I think I can roll it forward half a tire circumference before everything catches up.
EeePee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 06:28 PM   #3
RCC Addict

just yanked on mine.... No flex
dirk379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 11:31 PM   #4