Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: Noob crawler's mods. Whatta ya think?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2007, 04:36 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Noob crawler's mods. Whatta ya think?

I'm not new to RC... it scares me to think how long I have had the RC bug. I am, on the other hand, a total noob when it comes to RC crawling. :-P

Having had the Scorpion for a few weeks now, I made a few teaks and adjustments that I thought would help. Some were a complete failure, others have been pretty successful. Here are some of the more useful ones. Let me know what you think or if I've missed anything important.

Click on any picture to see a larger version!

A couple of things going on here...

One is the servo flip with the longer drag link. Not a huge deal, but the longer you can make that link, the less angularity you get through the servo sweep.

The other thing is that as you can see by all the scratches on the tie rod that I was obviously bashing into stuff with the steering. So, I took some aluminum rod (like you'd make suspension links out of) and bent up a 'stinger' of sorts. I just tapped the rod for M3 hardware and installed slightly longer allen bolts through the opposite direction from stock. So far, I love it and I hate it. When it contacts a rock or something that would normally just jam into the tie rod, the stinger pushes the front end up and over! What sucks is that when you are coming up under a lip or something and the top of stinger gets trapped underneath it. I think I'll build another one that is 3/4" or so higher so that the top of it sticks out over top of the tires.

Not a new idea by any stretch, but one that has helped keep the stock Axial drive shafts from barfing out on every run. It's just some aluminum tube from the LHS drilled out to 15/32" ID. I don't know what 'tubing size' it is, but it measures 0.550" OD.