Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: Knuckle Question?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2011, 11:30 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Knuckle Question?

Hi guys, sorry if this question sounds a bit silly but im new to whole R/crawler thing..

Well im currently biulding up a Honcho kit and im going to fit aluminum steering knuckles and i was wondering which ones to buy?

The Axial Hi Clearance or Axial Normal ??

Cheers Clint
waggaclint is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-21-2011, 11:42 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

if you go the high clearance route, I think you'll also have to get some new axle shafts that use CV style joints, otherwise the dog-bone style joints will bind up at full lock steering, since the high clearance ones are going to turn sharper than the standard ones

I THINK, I have no experience to back that up other than what I faintly recall reading here on the forum
iamsuperbleeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 11:52 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamsuperbleeder View Post
if you go the high clearance route, I think you'll also have to get some new axle shafts that use CV style joints, otherwise the dog-bone style joints will bind up at full lock steering, since the high clearance ones are going to turn sharper than the standard ones

I THINK, I have no experience to back that up other than what I faintly recall reading here on the forum
I was thinking the same thing so i plan to get CVD's as well...
Old 09-22-2011, 02:36 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper

I thought the high clearance was just to get your steering links out of the way of oncoming obstacles.
JS412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 10:44 AM   #5
Quarry Creeper

Quote:
Originally Posted by JS412 View Post
I thought the high clearance was just to get your steering links out of the way of oncoming obstacles.