Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: My first RC Crawler and build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2011, 06:15 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default My first RC Crawler and build

I picked up my Honcho about 3 weeks ago and had alot of fun driving it.But I must admit it wasn't till I found this site and all of the build threads that I was inspired to turn mine out. So here goes this is what I have done to it to date. But please remember I am new to this hobby so mistakes are going to be made lol.

The first thing I changed out was the links. I swapped out the stock plastic 3 linki for a steel 4 link set. I also changed out the motor on the recomendation of someone at my LHS. But the one I threw in was a cheapy. Not happy with it at all so its going to have to be changed out when I upgrade the SC.

The next to to was the stock stearing. Swapped out the stock servo for a Hobbico Ultra Torque servo. Again replaced the plastics with alum links.

At the same time as the stearing I added a Castle BEC.

This concluded the first round of ugrades.
DaveinSac is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-30-2011, 06:31 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

The last round of upgrades I did was much more involved so it took me a bit longer to make them. I started by cracking open the transmission and replacing the plastic output gear for a all steal one. I needed it to be able to handle to new steel driveshafts. At that time I turned the motor/transmission around so its facing forward now.

While I was doing all this I added larger tires. RC4WD 46.5x17.5x19 Super Swampers **EDIT** the tires are still 1.9 which I was surprised about given how much larger they were compared to the stock Flat Irons **EDIT**, as well as some Pro-line shocks.

Last edited by DaveinSac; 09-30-2011 at 06:54 PM.
Old 09-30-2011, 06:39 PM   #3
Rock Crawler

Looking good, I just got a honcho myself and really like it.