Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: New JK kit build for a complete newbie, HELP!!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2013, 06:41 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default New JK kit build for a complete newbie, HELP!!

Hi all.

Well I thought reading this forum may have given me a good steer on my new Scale build but it has only served to confused me more.

I have ordered a Axial JK kit along with a Tekin FX-R 35t brushed combo which I will be receiving at the end of the week. A mate is bringing this back with him from the US. I decided I would purchase the battery, servo etc here in the UK.

As a complete novice to scale electric models I have spent some time on here trying to understand the RC world of the electric side of things. I come from a 1/8 & 1/5 scale nitro and gas powered cars so this is all new.

So here are my thoughts and questions.

Option 1

1) Battery: Lipo 2S ???? mah

2) Use the bec in the ESC thus no external bec.

3) Servo Hitec HS-7954SH 7.4v ( I assume the built in bec will step this down to 6V? Do I really need a servo of this quality, power or is there one at half the price that will do the same job and last as long?

4) This route is by far the cheapest

Option 2

1) Battery: Lipo 3S ???? mah

2) Buy as CC external Bec with USB link to adjust output voltage for servo to 7.4V or 6v if a cheaper one is bought. I assume the bec in the FX-R ESC will fry if used with a 3S lipo???

3) Servo Hitec HS-7954SH 7.4v Do I really need a servo of this quality & power or is there one at half the price that will do the same job and last just as long?

4) This route will cost more is all areas to get up and running.