Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: just ordered my SCX10 today, Im a newbie to Rock Crawling ... HELP!!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2014, 11:58 AM   #1

Default just ordered my SCX10 today, Im a newbie to Rock Crawling ... HELP!!

Well guys I just ordered the SCX10™ 2012 Jeep® Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 1/10th Scale Electric 4WD - Kit today, I live in an area that rock crawling is very popular and has a purse to the winner... That being said I'm a newbie to the rock crawling world which is why I ordered the kit so that I could get better knowledge right out the gate... My goal here is to build a serious competition crawler... So I'm asking for suggestions as to what upgrades I need right out of the gate for the chassis .. Also what gearing, ESC and motor do you novice suggested I use... I'm not looking for speed but rather great rock crawling ability with my scx10... I know that I don't want the rollback issue so please help with whatever u guys suggest ...
upNComer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-06-2014, 01:31 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: just ordered my SCX10 today, Im a newbie to Rock Crawling ... HELP!!

First thing is to know the competition rules for the type of crawler you bought. You need to know the rules that apply to the type of rig you are building if you are doing a comp rig. For example, the SCX10 is a scaler so the rules are different than say for a MOA rig. I would look at the rules carefully before going out and buying upgrade parts.

2014 SORRCA Scale rules

For crawling, I would look at the HH TorqueMaster Pro 35T / HH BRXL ESC combo. Holmes Hobbies LLC
k7zpj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 04:56 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: just ordered my SCX10 today, Im a newbie to Rock Crawling ... HELP!!