Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: JUNKFOOT repower

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2015, 03:27 PM   #1
Proverbial threadkiller

Default JUNKFOOT repower

First thing I'd like to do, is thank Holmes Hobbies, as this repower is compliments of winning one of their sensored brushless 4 pole Puller motors in a giveaway. I selected the 3300 kV 'Stubby' model.
Since I have no experience with, nor any equipment here for, a sensored brushless, I had them throw in a BLE Pro ESC at my cost.

It doesn't matter in the truck that I chose to use this motor in, but I still wondered if it was at all similar in size to a brushed motor. As you can see, once you get the sensor clipped in, it's darn near identical.
I don't currently have a working scale, so I can't make any calls as far as a weight difference, sorry.

As curious as I am, I resisted the urge to take this motor apart just to see what's inside. There's pictures elsewhere of the internals, and I have next to no confidence in my abilities where exploratory surgery is concerned.

Gimme a few minutes to get some linking taken care of, and I'll post up a few pics of the install shortly.......
Trubble is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-13-2015, 04:17 PM   #2
Proverbial threadkiller

Default Re: JUNKFOOT repower

Okay, here's the truck I chose to bestow with the power.....

Spec Sheet:
Frame: TCS X-Trail (new)
Skidplate/motor mount: Custom (n/c)
Motor: Brood Intensity (new)
Trans: Stock AX/SCX (used) 16/87 gears
Driveshafts: Stock WB's (used)
Axles: Stock AX/SCX (used)
Links: Whatever I had laying around
D-mounts: Home made
Shocks: Stock e-Maxx shocks, no springs (spare parts stock)
Wheels: Stock Axial 1.9's (used)
Tires: RC 4WD Mud Slingers, (used) every other lug trimmed out
ESC: AE-2 (used)
BEC: Castle 10 amp (spare parts stock)
Receiver: Futaba R203GF FHSS (spare parts stock)