Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX10 II
Loading

Notices

Thread: Servo horn clearance

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2016, 12:23 AM   #1
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: HB
Posts: 946
Default Servo horn clearance

Anyone have issues with the servo hot screw hitting the panhard? Took my friends rig out for the first time and with his Hitech servo, the screw backed out and stripped the servo horn. We noticed the rod end on the panhard contacted the screw when the suspension was fully compressed. Haven't seen this issue pop up so I'm hoping it was just overlooked and not tightened all the way down on install
shiftauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-30-2016, 01:03 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Kempsey
Posts: 48
Default Re: Servo horn clearance

i think a few people have mentioned issues with clearance here, I know I had to put some spacers under my servo with an alloy horn so that it would clear nicely.
Scales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 04:19 AM   #3
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: In the country
Posts: 522
Default Re: Servo horn clearance

HI,
There is a lot of mention here somewhere. But racers edge is the go to servo horn and I have seen washers used to raise as well. But racers edge servo horn is the predominant response.
jwall046 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 06:35 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Corpus Christi
Posts: 336
Default Re: Servo horn clearance

Always use threadlockers on servo horn screws.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
Waitwhatsthat? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 09:39 AM   #5
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: HB
Posts: 946
Default Re: Servo horn clearance

Thanks. Not sure if loctite was used the first time but definitely was this time. I'll look into adding spacers
shiftauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 09:53 AM   #6
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Moving
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Servo horn clearance

Or you can switch to a Revo rod end on the upper panhard end. It's allot smaller than the Axial rod end and gave me clearance at full compression. Spacing the servo up isn't ideal because it takes the drag link and panhard bar out of parallel and will create bump steer. I'm also running the racers edge horn which is a nice low profile horn.

Last edited by SCREAMER; 06-30-2016 at 09:56 AM.
SCREAMER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 09:55 AM   #7
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: shadyside
Posts: 141
Default Re: Servo horn clearance

no Loctite but a small lock washer will do the trick an definitely spacers under my savox servo, an a racers edge aluminum horn
fomoco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 04:26 PM   #8
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: In the country
Posts: 522
Default Re: Servo horn clearance

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCREAMER View Post
Or you can switch to a Revo rod end on the upper panhard end. It's allot smaller than the Axial rod end and gave me clearance at full compression. Spacing the servo up isn't ideal because it takes the drag link and panhard bar out of parallel and will create bump steer. I'm also running the racers edge horn which is a nice low profile horn.
I know what I'm doing tonight.ty

Sent from my LG-D850 using Tapatalk
jwall046 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 06:50 PM   #9
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Worthington
Posts: 267
Default Re: Servo horn clearance

Adding the same amount of spacers between horn and link will keep everything inline
NitroDarwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 08:21 PM   #10
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 411
Default Re: Servo horn clearance

I just want more throw. I already have the racers edge horn on there, but there is plenty of throw left. I need a servo horn that is 2" long lol. And yes, my EPA is all the way up.
1967Typhoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 08:33 PM   #11
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: palm desert (southern cali)
Posts: 850
Default Servo horn clearance

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1967Typhoon View Post
I just want more throw. I already have the racers edge horn on there, but there is plenty of throw left. I need a servo horn that is 2" long lol. And yes, my EPA is all the way up.


You need a different radio then I'm using a cheap tactic 3 channel hitec 7954sh and the metal horn that comes with hitec servo I have it set at max before bind and can still go more


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jdmguy760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 02:20 PM   #12
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 411
Default Re: Servo horn clearance

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmguy760 View Post
You need a different radio then I'm using a cheap tactic 3 channel hitec 7954sh and the metal horn that comes with hitec servo I have it set at max before bind and can still go more
You were right! I tried a flysky instead of my Kyosho radio and the flysky had much more travel. Now I'm bummed. I wanted to use the kyosho since it has a 3 position switch on it. I want to do the 2-speed later on. I guess I have to choose between less steering, or 2-speed. I guess I could always get another radio (don't want to).
1967Typhoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 02:23 PM   #13
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: palm desert (southern cali)
Posts: 850
Default Re: Servo horn clearance

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1967Typhoon View Post
You were right! I tried a flysky instead of my Kyosho radio and the flysky had much more travel. Now I'm bummed. I wanted to use the kyosho since it has a 3 position switch on it. I want to do the 2-speed later on. I guess I have to choose between less steering, or 2-speed. I guess I could always get another radio (don't want to).
glad i could help with that i knew it had to be cause like i said my tactic i have it set and i can still go more get a tactic cheap radio and not bad i can control a winch or a 2 speed from it if you want a better radio all around i love my mt4s and always loved the futaba 4pls
jdmguy760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 02:43 PM   #14
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 411
Default Re: Servo horn clearance

It appears I can do a 2-speed with my flysky. I just can't control a winch. I'm not really into winching, I had one a while back and hardly used it. So, it looks like I'm going with the Flysky for now.
1967Typhoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 02:45 PM   #15
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: palm desert (southern cali)
Posts: 850
Default Re: Servo horn clearance

Cool well sounds like you got it sorted out nice


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jdmguy760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Servo horn clearance - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OFNA Servo Horn stout enough for Protek 170T Servo? Banjoblue Axial Wraith 2 06-25-2015 05:30 PM
Wraith servo horn clearance? StomperCrawler Axial Wraith 6 12-09-2014 03:39 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com