Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: Steering knuckles, VP or STRC?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2011, 08:16 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Steering knuckles, VP or STRC?

One better than the other, I have not found a comparison picture to see them both against each other but it looks as the VP locates the tie rod higher? But the STRC is double sher.

Anyone can elaborate of post installed pics, I am still a newbie but not scared to ask

VP -

STRC -

Thanks
NCT_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-30-2011, 08:26 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

The strc are stock replacement. You will need the stock steering arms to bolt the those knuckles. The double sheer section goes behind the axle and are more of a left over from the xr10 design. They do work as a nice steering stop though.

The vp's do raise the tierod higher and eliminate the double sheer ears as they don't normally get used.
skid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 08:38 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Great info, thank you.

So I really like the STRC tie rod/drag link so I was ordering that, I guess I am looking to know if the VP is a better direction to go and if it being a high mount style will that now limit my wheel to rod end clearance? I was going to go with a set of VP wheels and I am sure those will fit being the same company but I was also looking at Mayhems. I would hate to have parts sitting here that doesn't work together. I think I may need to place a call to the company's to see how I need to mate all these parts up unless someone already has done this, again I am new so I am doing reading and research but just my thoughts that I have not yet seen directly on any of the builds I have read about, or maybe I over looked it.
Old 11-30-2011, 08:42 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper