Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: Weighing The Tires

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2012, 10:36 PM   #1

Default Weighing The Tires

It is a little late to be asking this question, but I thought that I would do it anyway. My uncle and I both have both have Wraiths (my little cousin does too). We have had them for a couple of months now and we are getting away from stock (finally) Anyway, my Uncle used some wheel weights off of his jeep to weigh the inside of his tires and he trimmed the foam and it's working pretty nice. Well, I got bored last night and dismounted my tires, pulled the foam and I filled them with BBs. I have just over 1 lb in each front tire and just under 1 lb in each of rear tires. Has anyone else tried this, and if so, do you have any pointers for me? I'm fairly new to crawling and any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys, and happy wheeling.
mamcleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-31-2012, 11:45 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Weighing The Tires

Well, you're going to need a real powerhouse motor to turn those wheels.
If you check around on the forum here, you'll see anywhere from 2oz to 8oz of weight added. I have yet to see anyone stick 16+oz in a tire.

BB's could work ok if you strictly crawl, but will likely shift with any wheel speed. It seems most use stick on type weights. They stay put.
Solitaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 12:12 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solitaire View Post
Well, you're going to need a real powerhouse motor to turn those wheels.
If you check around on the forum here, you'll see anywhere from 2oz to 8oz of weight added. I have yet to see anyone stick 16+oz in a tire.

BB's could work ok if you strictly crawl, but will likely shift with any wheel speed. It seems most use stick on type weights. They stay put.