Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: garden variety wraith rebuild

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2012, 12:12 AM   #1
RCC Addict

Default garden variety wraith rebuild-now with rear steer

So ive been checking out wraith builds for a few months now and after a buddy got one i figured it would be time for myself to get one. Ended up getting a nicely built/lightly used wraith out of the classifieds here but there were things i wanted to change so here we are!

Basic rundown when i got it
VP knuckles/chubs/lockouts/links/steering/3link/CMS/diff covers
VP wheels with proline swampers falling out of the wheels everywhere
carterfab alu panels
crawler innovations tray
hitec 7955 servo
OG mamba max with a tekin 17.5 turn motor

As you can see it was pretty decent but i had some changes in mind. I ran it for 2 mins on 3s with the supplied 80/20 gearing and the unsensored-able esc it would cog worse then any brushless setup ive ever seen. It was unusable as is. When it would go it would run quick enough that any turn caused a roll. So let the mods commence! far this week ive added
VP trusses
VP diff carrier caps
VP VVD axles (very nice)
hot racing spools F+R
R35 ripsaws
robinson racing one piece output and idler gear
dinky hood and drop box
proline slash front shocks in the rear (still waiting for another set for the front)
tekin RSpro esc and 13.5 T motor (in transit)
3s lipo
castle BEC
modded the sidepanels/removed some of the other alu panels
replaced questionable hardware (self tapping screws into the VP knuckles, seriously?)
shimmed the sloppy fit of the revo ends into the VP trusses/clearanced the skid for rod end clearance
made a heavier version of the CI tray
did the hood hinge mod
adjusted the ride height and the panhard setup for better function
random pics of teardown

before paint