Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: Batteries and charger

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2012, 10:56 AM   #1

Default Batteries and charger

Hello all,

I am new to this and I got my 7 year old son a used Axial Wraith for Christmas. I need to know what a good dual battery charger is and I plan on getting him 2 or 3 5000mah NIHM batteries. Right now I can the batteries (Raceready Brand) on Amazon for $20 a piece (on sale).

Help me out on this!

Thanks,
Jeremy
jebdrup is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-06-2012, 12:03 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Batteries and charger

I picked up an ONYX dual charger and it is amazing. Can charge a multitude of battery types and sizes. Not too expensive wither and have heard good things about it from other owners, (prior to my purchase).

CKRC - ONYX Dual Charger
offroadace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 12:31 PM   #3
Rock Stacker

I (and I am sure 90% of everyone else) would recommend going with Lipo batteries. They may cost more, but the smiles you will get from your son will be worth it. Lipo batteries will give you a much longer runtime. Just be sure you are the one charging them as they can be dangerous if you don't know what you are doing. Do a search. There is a plethora of information about these batteries and the dangers that come with them.
Boomstk74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:44 PM   #4

I bought the onyx 240 charger and 2 raceready 5000 mah batteries. I am going to try these first and do more reading on the lipo batteries.

Thanks for the info and this thing is easier to work on then my 1:1 buggy.
jebdrup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:57 PM   #5
Quarry Creeper