Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: Wraith review + problem

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2014, 11:18 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Wraith review + problem

Good day all, I'm new to RC and new to this forum. I'm from Trinidad btw.. Just recently I stumbled across the RC off road / crawler world while browsing videos on Youtube, I had no idea they made RC vehicles in such life like detail! At that point I was hooked and, well, needless to say, the research phase followed immediately after and I ended up making purchase of an Axial Wraith, Poison Spider version.

IMO, the Wraith is an awesome off road RC. I was able to crawl through some pretty rough terrain with it, suspension flex is great and stability is not as bad as I was expecting. At high speed it is easy to flip on sharp turns, but that is expected for a solid axle type vehicle. The stock gearing seems well suited to me, I found the balance of speed and power was quite reasonable. Remember this is my 1st RC and I have nothing to compare it against. I did make purchase of a 16T and 18T pinions along with the 87T spur gears but I haven't taken delivery of those as yet. I will try a slight gear reduction to see if it helps me during low speed maneuvers.

Cons I found:
- front tyres rub the body work when the front suspension flexes.
- the front body (radiator grill area) hits the steering servo horn when the front suspension compresses.
- I hate having to remove the battery to charge it. (I wired in a separate adapter so I could plug the LIPO charger in without having to unplug the battery from the ESC. I extended the balance plug on the battery as well)

Pros:
- Great suspension flex
- Locked front and rear differentials
- Great approach and departure angles
- Good stability
- The stock BFG Krawker tyres look great and perform well enough for now.