Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: My FPV Wraith

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2015, 09:33 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default My FPV Wraith

I've been tinkering on and off for the past several years with ground based FPV. There's a challenge that comes with trying to create a good, stable, usable video signal from an antenna a few inches off the ground. It's been a fun way to combine two of my favorite hobbies - ham radio and R/C.

I've built a Summit that's been through more incarnations than I can remember, and earlier this spring I used an Axial SCX10 chassis as the basis of a smaller, indoor rover. All my builds so far have been of the 'rover' variety - more of a platform to test technologies rather than something trying to re-create a full-scale driving experience. Lately I've been getting the itch to change that...

I've got a setup on my Summit rover that I'm happy with (for the moment) so I didn't want to go the Tonka Summit route (yet). I saw a few FPV SCX10 scalers, but everything looked really cramped. Then I saw this video:

That setup looked perfect to me! I really liked the look of the Wraith interior, and it's a capable enough vehicle to be driven just about anywhere. I spent a few more days watching FPV Wraith videos on YouTube. My mind was made up - I was going to build a Wraith FPV scaler. Having built a few ground based FPV rigs I've learned a few things that influenced me heavily in this build:
  • Anything above a brisk walking speed when driving FPV feels like warp-speed, so this Wraith was never going to have to go fast or need a huge brushless power system.
  • FPV gear and water don't mix! A failed FPV boat project taught me this. This Wraith is going to be sunny day, dry-weather rig only. No waterproofing necessary.