Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: Going faster on a budget

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2016, 03:45 AM   #1

Default Going faster on a budget

Hi all, For my 42nd birthday I got a Poison Spyder Wraith rtr. I'm running a 5000 mah NiMH battery. I want to go faster on a budget until funds allow for brushless LiPo. As a complete newb i'm looking for the roadmap to cheap speed. What do you suggest for this? Gears, motor, ??? My final goal is a wild replica of a '32 ford panel. Any help is appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Pxwraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-04-2016, 07:18 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Going faster on a budget

I will pass along the most famous phrase in the history of this forum: volt up, gear down

There not much you can do while running that NIMH pack; it is big, heavy, and has lower voltage than a lipo pack. Your upgrade path should be planned with that in mind.

What kind of charger do you have? Unless you got the most bottom of the barrel one, it should have the capability to balance charge lipos. There is an abundance of cheap chargers (around $30) on the market that do an admirable job. A capable charger is the first step (if you already have a decent charger move on to the next phase).

Next, you can choose a battery. Fun begins at 3S so I start there with everything. 2200mah 3S packs are cheap and plentiful (easy to find under $15) and will provide about an hour of runtime. You definitely don't need to go with something as large as 5000mah in a Wraith, the largest battery I own is a 4000mah 3S and the time I get on the trail is somewhere past 3 hours.