Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Chit Chat

Notices

Thread: I'm building not 1 BUT 4 new rigs now.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2005, 06:12 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default I'm building not 1 BUT 4 new rigs now.

Pinewood Derby rigs that is.
Our church is holding a pinewood derby race in Feb so the kids and I have entered. Here is what the cars look like so far.

This is my youngest son's.

This is my middle son's.

And this on is my daughter's car. Obviously a VW beetle.

They are going for looks more than speed. They are kind of young to be too competetive. I'm sure when they get older they will want to win instead of look good.

Mine is going to be a wedge/stick looking thing that will hopefully leave all the others in the dust.

I'm sure some of you youngsters have had some experience with these sort of cars. This is my first time building one(or 4) so any tips would be helpfull.
Esteban86K5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-13-2005, 06:30 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

graphite on the axles, and bury lead weights in the center.
CronusTRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 06:38 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Also make sure and sand the tires smooth with fine grit paper.
Cole82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 07:03 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper

I've been reading alot on different sites about helpfull tips.

So far I am going to groove and polish the axles. Use the graphite on them. Add weight towards the rear of the car with lead underneath. Smooth and polish the wheels and make the actual car as sleek and as smooth as I can.
Old 12-13-2005, 07:21 PM   #5
RCC Addict

Polish axles, smooth tires, bury weight inside the car (weights for 1:1 aluminum car wheels work nicely). And if you want to win, angle a wheel up so the thing rides on 2 wheels most of the time. If they're imposing a weight limit, get a scale or take it to the post office and get it as close to limit as possible.