Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Chit Chat

Notices

Thread: Semi-Fast, Cheap, 1:18 scale car/truck

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2010, 08:04 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Semi-Fast, Cheap, 1:18 scale car/truck

I've let my son play around with my crawler, but I'm getting too much money in it for a 3-year old to play with, besides he mostly just goes full blast in the grass. I would like to find a decent, cheap smaller scale(1:18 or similar) basher that he can't really mess up to bad? I will buy it used but I need to know what to look for? I'm still new to the rc scene so I'm not sure what's out there that's good. Any suggestions? I have debated on getting or just building a MRC and making it into more of a basher type truck, but not sure it that's a good idea?
es79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-06-2010, 08:53 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

You can pick up an RC18T, RC18B, RC18MT or RC18R for around $100; probably cheaper now that the second version has come out ( RC18T2/RC18B2/SC18 ).

RC18T is the truck.

RC18MT is the "monster truck."

RC18R is the on-road style car.

RC18B is the buggy.

I would say, for your situation, the RC18MT is the best bet. It has a taller gearing allowing for more low-torque for your son to bash through the grass as well as higher ride height. It is by no means a crawler, and I was quite impressed with the stock speed. You can probably pick up a brand new in box RC18MT at your local hobby shop for around $150 or get a used one off of eBay or the likes for under $100.

Oh, and with any of these, you get everything you need in the RTR package: the radio. motor, ESC, battery and even a battery charger are all included!

Cheers,
Kyle.
Donziikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 09:49 PM   #3
Rock Stacker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Donziikid View Post