Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Chit Chat

Notices

Thread: Q's Building a AR15

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2014, 06:02 AM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Q's Building a AR15

Well im new to this iv got the basic idea of it but theres just so many manufacturers, i dont know which direction to turn to should i go custom or buy a pre built and build off of that whats your thoughts?
Ohioskills is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-02-2014, 06:33 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: Q's Building a AR15

First step is figuring what you want to do with it. From there pick barrel twist that suits the task (1 in 9 is a good all-round) and pick parts.

Lowers can be assembled easily. Uppers easier to buy assembled.
BUBBA069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 03:51 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Not a fan of the ar platform, but can I ask why a ar ? Most people I know just like the way they look , or that can put pic rails on there and mount any combo of dozens of gadgets.
alabamaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 05:08 PM   #4
RCC Addict

With the prices out there now, I would go with a pre built and customize it as you find the things you like. You can get a S&W MP15 base model in the $700 range. Good deals on Stags and Wyndhams, all under $900. Conversely you can get a loaded pre built from Wilson Combat or BCM for $2200.

If you want to build your dream, go components. I have a DPMS custom and a Wyndham pre built with some upgrades and both are nice rifles.
neillarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 05:20 PM   #5
I wanna be Dave

I like the Aero Precision & Mega Arms lowers, but as long as the lower is mil spec, you'll be GTG.

If I looking to get into an AR right now, this is a great way to start.

Complete lower.

PSA AR-15 Complete Classic Lower - No Magazine - Lowers - AR-15

That's only $30.00 more than a complete polymer lower.

Barreled upper assembly.