Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Duratrax Cliff Climber

Notices

Thread: How to minimiaze stall and a tire question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2008, 03:22 PM   #1

Default How to minimiaze stall and a tire question

Hi There,

I am a newbie to the crawling hobby and just got myself a CC.

I have noticed that when the front wheels lose traction on a climb some time the rear wheels don't move. I understand it is called Clod Stall - because the ESC acts as kind of differential and directs current to the less resisting path.

I have locked the rear steering to reduce the current drain to the rear servo and put the battery on the front servo. This helped a little and it climbs much better.

Any other things I can do to improve this?
As this is my first crawler I don't want to invest to much as I will probably go for a larger one as well (AX10 I believe).

The second question is regarding the tires, will larger 2.2 tires work on the CC? is he strong enough with the stock engines. I miss a little clearance and was hopping the larger tires will help. As they are glued I assume heating them to 100c or so should fre them up.

oooppps this already 3 questions

Thanks

Ilan
ilanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-27-2008, 08:42 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

you can also help clod stall by putting a smaller pinion on the rear motor. smaller by on tooth. mine came stock with 11t pinions.
twisted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 11:52 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

if you switch your hubs around left and right u will get a little more gc. as there is a big side and a small side. put the small side down and you will get a little more gc. it dosnt hurt the steering either.
gigercreeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 06:41 AM   #4
Rock Crawler

ilanB
Here are a few suggestions that work well.