Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: High torque metal gear micro servos..why not?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2008, 12:09 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default High torque metal gear micro servos..why not?

I'm pretty new to the crawler scene as in this year I got my ax-10. Why have servos been the same size for over a decade? The last rc I had was when I was in highschool.

Why aren't there any high torque metal gear micro servos? Anyone have any leads on any being produced? It would be so nice to be able to mount one tucked away on the side of the axle near the tire instead of a brick in the center. I'm sure the scalers would love em...robot makers would love em, flying things would use them...why aren't there any?
miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-14-2008, 12:13 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

crawlers need around 200 oz/in of torque minimum. currently I belive Integy has the strongest micro servo with 69oz/in. not nearly enough for a crawler.

there are plenty of small servos out there, but the standard size is just that, the standard.
mysharona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 12:20 PM   #3
Rock Crawler

I know, that's why I'm asking why there aren't any. Ten-twenty years and we have all these fancy electronics, speed controls, tiny brushless motors yet we're still steering with bricks?
Old 02-14-2008, 02:06 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper

i dont know about that but on my clod i have the suspension less chassis and moabs xls and i stripped my mettal gear servo and i think it was the hitec hs-5645mg
breitenbach14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 03:11 PM   #5
Quarry Creeper

You can only make a 6v motor that fits inside a micro servo case so powerful. Maybe if some company felt that enough crawlers were running 3s lipo to make a single purpose 12v micro servo we would see some. The market just isn't there.
HndsWthtShdws is offline   Reply With Quote