Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: 7T Cobalt Puller...you need one.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2008, 11:34 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default 7T Cobalt Puller...you need one.

I had to post because this motor is unreal. I'm new to this hobby and still learning lots but this is one of the best things I've bought for my crawler. Did a lot of reading.

I wanted more wheelspeed with the same slow low speed control that I had with my 55t integy motor. And it seemed like it was one or the other until I read about the puller motors from Holmes Hobbies. I'm running the 7T puller with a mamba max and 9cell 1500 elite pack ax-10 tranny and axles with stock gearting. I may need capacitors because I had some glitching issues but I stuffed all my electronics in quckly for a comp and that is most likely the issue...maybe someone will chime in to let me know if they are needed with this motor...my noobness exposed :-P.

Nobody at the comp made this line. It was steep and wet with an irritating ledge right at the base of it. I didn't make it either but I'm sure I could have with more time and pulling off the throttle at the right time...really it's a new level of crawling IMO. I was so used to full throttle assaults where now I have to learn to let off the gas because there can be too much wheelspeed .

This was the climb, it was wet, near virtacle ledge at the base and muddy:

You can see how fast it gets going. It jumps on it almost instantly...this thing is unreal.

Holmes Hobbies sticker gets a spot on my lid . Had to rotate the pic and you can see that if I was more used to it I could have probably let off the gas and then crawled the rest of the way up. Letting off of the throttle is the hard part cause it's so fun

And another video messin around....just the sound of it makes me wanna skip work tomorrow to play with it again.