Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Thinking of getting stick Radio

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2009, 11:11 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Thinking of getting stick Radio

Hello I am new to Crawler's and electrics I have run nitro rc and fly when I get the chance. I am thinking about getting a Venom Crawler and running a Teking combo. My first of what I am sure to be many questions is about a radio set up I was getting ready to get a new radio for a new plane I am building and was thinking of the Futaba 6 or 7 c. I was wondering what I would have to do to get this to work in a crawler and are there any other reciever packs that I can mate uo with this radio. I am also open to other brands of radios and I appreciate any and all help.
boisetrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-25-2009, 01:20 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

The Spektrum DX6i is very popular. You won't really need a reciever pack. Everything would be run off the ESC and main battery. You might need a BEC setup to up the juice to the servo's depending on your final decision of ESC, but not a reciever batter pack.

The only drawback is that with the reversing ESC's and stick radio's, you'll probably want the thottle modded to be spring loaded center like the right stick. That could be an issue since it sounds like you want to use it for aircraft and ground vehicles. That would be up to what your comfortable with I guess.

You can't buy the parts to mod the DX6i but you can send it into Horizon and have it modded for free. I recently bought one and just sent it in for the mod. It's not supposed to cost anything other than the shipping to them. I haven't gotten it back yet so I won't say for sure. I called the tech support and that's what I was told.
Mriswith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 01:45 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper