Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: xl5 and titan 12t 550

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2009, 09:29 PM   #1

Default xl5 and titan 12t 550

im pretty new to rc and i am looking to expand into crawling/scaling
i am most likely going to get an ax10 artr.
i have the factory ecm and motor out of my traxxas slash that i was thinking of using paired with a spektrum dx3.0 and a spektrum servo.
i know that this doesn't have a drag brake and i cant run dig(which im still learning about) with the radio that i have, but will this setup hold me for a bit.
i dont plan on doing anything serious i just want something to play with and bash around on some rocks.
ct03si is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-05-2009, 09:39 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

That combo will be too fast for crawling, I don't think you could gear it down enough. The XL5 is good ESC and you could get a 45T motor that would do good in the ATR, but it is a little iffy in crawlers, you'll get frustrated by the lack of low-end control. The only real problem is the double-clutch reverse, plus, like you said, no drag break.

Aside from the double-clutch reverse, that wouldn't be a bad combo at all for a Kyosho or the Losi Comp Crawler.

Last edited by Greatscott; 03-06-2009 at 03:00 PM.
Greatscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 10:57 PM   #3

I'm running that exact setup for now in my AX10 kit and it works fine, but it could have more torque. It has a lot of wheel speed though which is nice. The runtime on my 6-cell 1500mAh pack isn't that great though. I have an Axial 27t motor from the rtr on the way to try and get a little more torque and runtime out of it. I don't use my AX10 for comps or anything, just playing around and I don't like the lack of wheel speed with a 55t motor and 6 cell pack so I think this will be a good balance.
RobWilJas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 05:04 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave