Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: NEW 1500mAh batteries only charging up to 1200mAh

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2009, 08:30 PM   #1

Default NEW 1500mAh batteries only charging up to 1200mAh

I bought 4 new 1500mAh NIMH battery packs and a new Onyx 240 charger.
I charged all of the packs.
I ran all of the packs down and recharged them again and when they finished charging the charger displayed their capacities as: 1355mAh , 1204mAh , 1200mAh and 1112mAh

Does the Onyx charger display the amount of charge that went in or does it display the total capacity of the battery?

Ie; are these batteries not up to there rating?

SORRY I FORGOT TO SAY THESE ARE 2/3A NIMH.

Last edited by braxx; 03-30-2009 at 08:45 PM.
braxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-30-2009, 08:36 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

im kinda new to lipo but ima take guess here.... im thinking that you are running your batteries on a lipo cut off... the cut off prevents you from draining the battery completely... the 1200+ that your charger is reading to you could be what the battery is getting back.

from 1500mah. your useing 1200+ and thats what your putting back in.

could be wrong
robbio4422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 08:49 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Might just be what it put in.
P1choco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 08:55 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

I have an Onyx charger. It tells you what it put in. You don't drain your batteries to zero so the number will always be different and usually lower than 1500. Don't run your nimh batteries all the way down!
Harvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 08:56 PM   #5
Pebble Pounder

how many time have you charged them? the first charge should have been 10% of the capacity. it takes several cycles to get a full charge.