Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: novak 55t squeaking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2009, 06:42 PM   #1

Default novak 55t squeaking

im new to crawling and i just got my rig set up today
i have the novak rooster with the 55t combo
at low speed the motor is squeaking and i am wondering if this is something normal with a new motor

thanks
jason
jahoban is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-04-2009, 07:20 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

My esc makes sounds when crawling super slowly.
This is normal and will not go away, ever.
It has something to do with the motor's windings, can't explain it exactly.

Harry
Old Sloppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 07:28 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Is the motor new??? sounds like it needs some oil in the bearings... if it s used it might need to be skimmed?
josh97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 07:33 PM   #4

its not the esc, i understand that it is going to whine
i thought it was the tranny but i took the tranny/motor assembly out and inspected each part
it is def the motor, it was squeaking when i turned it by hand
and yes the motor is brand new
the longer i ran the truck and the hotter the motor got the harder it was to turn the wheels by hand

jason
Old 06-04-2009, 07:47 PM   #5
Rock Crawler

THe motor hasnt gotten wet? But I agree... add a drop or two of oil on the bearings, give it a spin by hand, and see if that helps.
PEDEcrawlerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 07:47 PM   #6
Quarry Creeper

Something isnt right with the motor.. u need to take it apart or get ahold of novak... it shouldnt do that....
Old 06-04-2009, 08:04 PM   #7
Rock Stacker

you sure its not just the drive shafts?, my plastic shafts squeak alot
brokeitagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 08:34 PM   #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by brokeitagain View Post
you sure its not just the drive shafts?, my plastic shafts squeak alot