Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Receiver or ESC?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2010, 09:04 PM   #1

Default Receiver or ESC?

Hello, I have a SCX-10 TR an have a question about and issue I am seeing with it. When I use the stock transmitter to make the rig go forward I have to push the trigger forward, which is backwards from the Traxxas cars my boys have. I have no prior experience with RC's, so I don't what is normal, but the Traxxas stuff seem like the better electronic equipment so I am thinking they match the standard.

Anyway, if I reverse things so that it goes forward when you pull the trigger the speed control is very touchy/glitchy. The truck goes forward in a "lurchy" manner then as I pull the trigger more it will just shoot forward with no slow speed control. If I keep the radio in the stock configuration with push tigger forward to go forward the control is really smooth. I tried reversing the motor wires but it didn't help. I posted the problem over on the SCX-10 section and got some advice, but figured it was just crappy radio/receiver. because it didn't fix anything.

Thinking it was the stock radio that was not very good, I tried using my sons Traxxas radio that is the same freq and found I had the same problem, so it is not the radio. It must be either the receiver to the ESC. I did just pick up a 2.4 Traxxas radio and receiver from the F/S section and hope that will fix it. I am going to slowly upgrade the electronics anyway and wanted to go 2.4 but I was hoping the ESC would be ok for a while.

Any thoughts on the problem?
deeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-24-2010, 09:54 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

try reversing the throttle channel on the radio first,,let us know what happens. the lurching motor could be a couple of things but try the reversed channel first.
rmdesignworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 10:02 PM   #3
Rock Crawler