Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Need Help Installing Tekin's FX-R

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2010, 01:29 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Need Help Installing Tekin's FX-R

Hey everyone...., are there any tutorials out there any more helpful than the instructions that come with the FX-R? I've never soldered anything before and the instructions that come with it are all just a bit confusing to me as im still very new to the "upgraded" crawling scene.... do i need to buy banana connectors? how exactly does the power capacitator and the wires provided all connect together?

just wondering if there were even any video on someone installing one, as i learn quicker visually, and i just purchased one with a cheaper soldering gun and solder and am very excited to get out there and use it but, just want to make sure i install it the right way, sorry for the newbie questions, thanks for anyone who may be able to help!

just in case,
http://www.teamtekin.com/manuals/FXManual.pdf
inebriatedmarmoset is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-20-2010, 09:43 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

I hate to discourage folks from trying new stuff but soldering a fxr isn't a good place to practice soldering. Too much heat on the posts is the best way to destroy a fxr. I would find a buddy who knows what they are doing or pay someone to do it. Then practice soldering on other stuff.
oldhippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 09:58 AM   #3
Pebble Pounder

oldhippie!

This was exactly my concern and figured that I may eventually will have to do that and drive out further to a (better) hobby shop and see if they can do it as I don't know anyone else personally who shares the same interest/has experience. been crawlin' solo.....

and i suppose there aren't any other instructions out there...

Either way, Thanks for the advice! appreciate it, man!