Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: need help designing a non RC motor control circuit

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2010, 02:54 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default need help designing a non RC motor control circuit

Let me start out by saying that I am not an electrical engineer, but I am learning quickly. I still need a little help however. I am trying to figure out a way to control a pair of DC gear motors in a particular way. The application is on a walk behind material handling machine that I am designing. The motors are identical, 600w 24v motors that have a 30:1 worm gear speed reducer on them. I plan on delivering the power to them with a 140 amp controller card we use at work. The cards have programmable speeds and acceleration rates among other things and I have most of the inner workings of those figured out. In this new application however, I would like each motor to drive a track much like a tank track. I will need to vary the amount of current going to each motor to change the speed so that I can effectively turn. Now here comes the challenging part: I need to do this from a mechanical source. The rear of the machine is going to have a tiller much like a pallet jack. As the tiller is rotated to one side, the power is going to be biased to one motor, causing the cart to turn. The throttle is applied via a wig wag switch operated by the thumbs. This wig wag controls both the speed and the forward/reverse operation of the control card. I believe I have found a way to use a potentiometer to achieve the effect I am after, but not at this high of current. In this experimental circuit, the motors are effectively wired in parallel with each other, both running at 24v and 70A each. But in this experimental circuit, there is a pot wired in the junction on one set of the leads. The wiper goes to the card, and the ends go to each motor. The position of the wiper would essentially favor which motor receiv