Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: New on Lipos, how to no waste money in overpowered LIPOS.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2010, 09:30 AM   #1

Default New on Lipos, how to no waste money in overpowered LIPOS.

For sometime now, I have been doing some research in order to change from Nihm to Lipos. One of teh first things that I came across was the "C" rating on lipos and the max amps that they are able to deliver.

I want to buy a lipo but I don't want to waste money in a SUPER LIPO capable of deliver 250 amps.

My question is: If I have a Mamba Max ESC (which is only capable of 100 amps). Do I only need a lipo batery capable of deliver this amount of amps, maybe something a little bit higher over 100 amps? or Is there any advantage on having a Lipo batery able to deliver higher amps than the ESC will drain??.

Sorry for my english
raolguio is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-24-2010, 09:43 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

There is no such thing as too much lipo. They only give what your motor takes. No more. Amp's is not something that a battery gives. It is a load that a battery can handle.

What are you looking for size wise? I perhaps, could recommend you a good battery at a good price.
Chris_The_Battery_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 01:22 PM   #3

I got your point, but for example let's say there are two lipo bateries:
1- 2S lipo 5000 mah 30C --> 150 amps capable
2- 2S lipo 5000 mah 40C --> 200 amps capable

So, if I use the Mamba Max ESC that is just capable to handle 100 amps. is there any rel gain in use the 2° lipo batery of my example?? or this ESC is not capable to get the most out of that battery and thus, it will be a overpowered battery for this especific ESC.