Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Help me pick motor/ESC combo please

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2010, 08:26 AM   #1

Default Help me pick motor/ESC combo please

OK, sorry for this because Im a crawler newbie Here is my problem. I got a used crawler from a guy and its awesome, however the motor included with it was what appears to be a pretty old Integy 55t motor and I got a decent deal on a Novak rooster speed control but in my opinion its pretty much garbage. It works and runs but as soon as it gets to a point where the wheels start to spin it just acts like it doesnt have enough power to even turn the wheels and keep crawling. Is that a problem with my ESC or motor or is it just that combo of the Integy motor and Novak ESC.... I've heard quite a few negatives about both

I was looking at the Holmes motor and ESC combo, would that be decent? Keep in mind this isnt going into a hardcore comp crawler but just a AX10 that I crawl for fun for now. Thanks for any help or suggestions!!!
crfnick56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-27-2010, 08:31 AM   #2
RCC Addict

if your ever goin to comp buy once, i say FXR and a brood handwound in 35t.

i have never run the HH stuff personally but they are good ESC's. Also to get best performance 3s lipo is great battery choice, just remember your charger has to be lipo compatible.
scatterbrains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 08:38 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by scatterbrains View Post
if your ever goin to comp buy once, i say FXR and a brood handwound in 35t.

i have never run the HH stuff personally but they are good ESC's. Also to get best performance 3s lipo is great battery choice, just remember your charger has to be lipo compatible.
yea, I already have a lipo charger but will lipo batteries really make that much difference??
Old 10-27-2010, 08:55 AM   #4
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC