Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Lipo question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2010, 12:07 PM   #1
RCC Addict

Default Lipo question

I have a xr10 with duel Novak 55's and a rooster crawler esc and cc bec. How long should a 1300 2s lipo last. I am very new to lipos and just got a turnigy 420 charger. It doesn't balance the cells so I just unplug it as soon as one of the cells is fully charged I am just afraid to over charge it. Thanks for any info it helps a great deal.
Adam
adamargue is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-29-2010, 12:09 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Not balancing while charging is dangerous

Runtime is hard to determine without knowing your driving style. Perhaps a half hour? Hard to say
Chris_The_Battery_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 12:11 PM   #3
RCC Addict

I drive slow. It's only been running like 10 min before it starts to lurch like the batteries dieing. The charger charges the battery through the balancing plug
Old 10-29-2010, 01:52 PM   #4
RCC Addict

Since you have a Turnigy charger I would assume the battery is Turnigy also.
Turnigys are infamous for unmatched cells so charging without a balancer is just looking for a fire. The more you run and charge without balancing, the more they become uneven.
I'm not bad-mouthing Turnigy, they are what they are, a cheap lipo. I have several but I know what to expect.
I run Hyperions and ThunderPowers in my MOAs, anywhere from 850-1100MaH and get 30-35 minutes, a little less with dual ESCs.
I do not have a LiPo that's never been balance charged.....................

Well that's not entirely true but I just can't find the right balance port for my 1s cells....
JeepinDoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 01:56 PM   #5
cherry bomb