Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Servo seizure…is it a receiver issue?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2010, 10:05 AM   #1

Default Servo seizure…is it a receiver issue?

Just finishing my first berg and I am having trouble with the steering servo ‘seizing’. I have a torquemaster esc still set at factory specs, a dx3e with the sr300 receiver and a JR z9000t servo. I just purchased the servo used on ebay. Before I purchased the servo I had the s200 servo that came with the dx3e installed and it functioned flawless….other than slow and weak. Experimenting with the epa adjustments or dual rate steering again functioned fine with the s200. When I installed the JR servo it centered fine. I had epa’s and dual rate steering on max just like the s200. I set it down on the carpet floor and started to test the steering throw. It worked fine for a couple turns of the wheel and then went into a ‘seizure’. It was not in a binding situation and was not forced too far to one side. As it started to seize I maybe had limited motion of it until it was completely frozen but it would continue to ‘squeal’ even when I would not provide any steering input. This all happened in less than a minute. Powering down and starting up again it would work for a few turns and then same result. Adjusting epa’s and steering rate seemed to make it seize quicker. It never got hot and the esc was barely warm to the touch. I searched the forum with no definitive answers. It sounds like the spectrum receivers may not like the high power servos. It also sounds like installing a BEC could eliminate this.

I am not suggesting the external bec is a bad idea but it seems like it is kind of a bandaid covering my problem. Even if there is performance to be gained from the external bec, I would think the bec in the torquemaster is capable of running the servo on my living room floor.

Did I buy a crapped out servo on ebay?