Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: setup + this battery...safe?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2010, 02:52 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default setup + this battery...safe?

im new to LiPo batteries so bear with me.

battery i would like: http://www.maxamps.com/Lipo-1800-74-Pack.htm

electronics: CC sidewinder, novak 55t, CC BEC, Hitec 645mg

im open to suggestions. im looking into lipo because apparently theres a very large run-time with them?

about how much run time would i get out of this?
LittleDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-18-2010, 03:00 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

Is it going in a honcho like in your sig?

I would go with a 3s or 4s pack if you already have the 55t
Failedabortion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 06:32 AM   #3
RCC Addict

Runtime depends on a lot more factors such as terrain, gearing, driving style, etc.

Generally in an Axial AX or SCX maybe you could get up to an hour but remember that your runtime may vary and can be significantly lower. However, continuous running isn't very good for the motor and your ESC will get warmer too.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 06:43 AM   #4
I wanna be Dave

Run time is run time regardless of the battery type. Terrain and throttle application are more determining factors.

What you get with Lipo is consistent run time, that is, the same power from start to finish.

So if you're looking for more run time go with a higher mAH rating and enjoy both. Also, I'd agree that a 3s pack will serve you better with a 55T motor.

In my humble opinion spend your money elsewhere for a Lipo; MA is overpriced and underpowered.

Read this and then contact Chris about a battery...more than likely you'll be able to get a higher mAH pack from CBP for the same price as the one you're looking at from MA.

While testing Elite against others we found big C Rating trickery