Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Hakko 936

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2011, 09:23 PM   #1
Got Worms?

Default Hakko 936

Hey does anyone know how to convert the 908 iron to a 907? I have found a conversion kit for 907 to 908, but i cannot find one that turns a 908 into a 907.

The reason i ask is because i'm now doing surface mount soldering and the smallest tip for a 908 is too big, and i have a couple tips here i bought for a 907 iron, till i realized it won't work.

Anyone know if i can just use the tip enclosure off of a 907 Iron, as its just too big on my 908...

Eventually i plan on getting two irons setup so i can do bigger stuff and tiny stuff side by side, but thats out of my budget right now.
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-20-2011, 11:57 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

I'm not an expert but I don't think that a conversion from 908 to 907 exists, at least all my googling couldn't find one. I have a 907 if you want any pictures or measurements from it. Another less desirable option would be to buy a knockoff 907 like these:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Hot-HAKKO-SOLDER...item336396aa24

http://www.lightobject.com/HAKKO-907...ment-P501.aspx

It might hold you over until you can get another station. It's pretty lame that a new iron costs as much as the new FX-888 station.
forbid89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 07:37 AM   #3
Got Worms?

Yea i couldn't find one either, how long is it from the base where it screw area is, up to where it holds the tip on, also whats the od at the base...its called the tip enclosure

Arn't those just the handles?
Old 03-21-2011, 06:13 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper

Does this help?

Yes those are just the handles, but it looks like they come with the heating element, tip and tip holder ready to plug into the 936 base. I'm not 100% sure but that is whats I assume from the picture.
Old 03-21-2011, 08:07 PM   #5
Got Worms?

Quote: